An event 14 years in the making…

It was the summer of 1995.  I was visiting my cousins, Aunt & Uncle in Eddyville, KY on one of my summer visits that stretched anywhere from a week to three weeks. My aunt had a hair appointment, so I tagged along…and ended up with my first of many salon visits for highlights. It was the first and only time I did cap highlights (for those of you who know what that means) in the salon. I was 13 years old and haven’t seen my natural hair color since.

I pretty much live by the philosophy (as petty as a philosophy as it is) that “It’s just hair.” My hair has been blonde, highlighted blonde, brown, low-lit brown, blonde and hot pink, brown and hot pink, black, orange (which was totally a mistake), blonde and light pink, auburn, and blonde with beige highlights (which sounds weirder than it actually was). After almost a year of being a brunette (which kinda started in the black category and warmed up to a rich brown) I decided to go back to blonde…something like Reese Witherspoon’s. I got the first round of highlights, accidentally-in-impatience cut five inches off my hair and now I’ve decided to…gasp!…see what happens when my hair grows out to its natural color. I figure I only have six or seven more inches to go, instead of twelve.

This is what we’ll find out: How blonde is my hair? How brown is my hair? How gray is my hair? It should be interesting.

This will mean wearing my hair curly more than usual as I try to cover up the growth lines; hopefully it won’t wreak havoc on family holiday pictures (and yes, as a Southern girl I do think of things like this).

If I think about it, I’ll try to chart the progress online. Currently my hair is grown out about an inch and a half since the last highlights (so it looks trashy, is what I’m saying).

Also, I realize that this is an absurd and shallow thing to blog about. Welcome to my world (kidding. I hope.).

One thought on “An event 14 years in the making…

Leave a Reply

