my five

This post courtesy of Brooke.

Movies to see:
Where the Wild Things Are
Shrink
Funny People
Julie & Julia
The Time Traveler’s Wife

Honorable Mentions: Taking Woodstock; I Can Do Bad All By Myself (These might be better rentals.)

Books to read:
South of Broad, Pat Conroy
The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder, Rebecca Wells
A Mad Desire to Dance, Elie Wiesel
The Irregulars, Jennet Conant
The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown

DVDs to rent:
Penelope*
The Reader
Mad Men: Season 1
Fanboys
How to Lose Friends and Alienate People

Live events to attend:**
8/11 Counting Crows, Augustana, Michael Franti & Spearhead: Ryman Auditorium
8/18 Sugar Ray: Wildhorse Saloon (I’m kidding…but what if I wasn’t?)
8/27 Eric Hutchinson: Lipscomb
9/19 Willie Nelson: Mud Island Amphitheatre (in Memphis)
9/23 Indigo Girls: Ryman Auditorium

*I realize this isn’t some critically acclaimed something or other, but I’ve gotten this movie both from Netflix and the library and neither will play on my DVD player. The widescreen version skips and the fullscreen version doesn’t have sound. ON BOTH TRYS! Weird, huh? It makes me want to see it really bad now. Has anyone else had this problem with this movie?

**I don’t have tickets yet for any of these; anyone want to be generous? 😉

3 thoughts on “my five

Leave a Reply

