Tales of a Reluctant Texan, Pt. 1

Now that I’ve talked about Brooke, now let me talk about her friends…who, and I hope the feeling is mutual, are becoming my friends. [Note: This will be a WTS* post, so get ready.]

In an earlier post, I talked about the Texas propaganda war that Brooke began around Christmastime. Every time I meet another one of her friends or, better yet, hang out with one of them more than once, I see how emotionally easy it would be for me to pack up and move tomorrow.

Okay. That’s a total lie. Here’s how it is:

Pro: I have a support system in Austin with Brooke, and beginning a larger system with new friends.

Con: I adore my Nashville friends, and love that I have “old school” friends here, too (Natalie, Haley, Kama).

Pro: Marsh (the company I work for) has an Austin branch. A transfer isn’t totally out of the question…I don’t think.

Con: I’ve only been at my job for a year, and I have no idea how to approach my boss about a transfer. In this economy, I hate to come across as anything less than appreciative and comfortable with where I am.

Con: I have a house that would have to be sold.

Pro: I’ve also mentioned this before…I have the “itch”…time to move again. My soul is looking for that kind of change.

(See how I ended that on a positive, folks? That’s what you learn in a sorority…)

Several of Brooke’s friends (who I guess I could call my friends, but my acceptance-seeking self just won’t let me say it yet) are now also in on the war, with their weapons ranging from subtle (I’ve been added to the group text lists and get regular texts like “Come to x’s house at x o’clock. Bring wine.”) to overt (“You should move to Austin!”). Honestly, this does wonders to my ego, and gets me excited when things in Nashville seem to…banal. I do have to weigh in the grown-up questions, though, like “Who will buy my house?” and “Can I keep my job?” and “How often would I see my family if I lengthened the time between us by nine hours?”

I think back to my move from Birmingham to Nashville. Then, and even now, it seemed** like an acceptable move—you graduate from college and you move away from the college town. Except…I quit two jobs to move to Nashville, where I’d live before, sure, but not my hometown. I did find a job…after a month and a half. So, should I categorize my move then as a rite of passage or leap of faith? What, now, should I consider or do differently as I look into new opportunities? What should I let limit me? When should I call it and go?

Of course, you now, the real questions I’m asking are “Am I a grown up?” “If so, when did it happen?”

*Work through, uh, stuff

**Ewwww, my grammar in this…this…entire blog. I don’t think a human should be allowed to change verb tense so much. My apologies.

4 thoughts on “Tales of a Reluctant Texan, Pt. 1

  1. Sounds like you’re torn! Its a tough spot to be in. Remember though, friends can come and go. You should want to move because it benefits YOU. Not because supposed friends want to you come. Can you see yourself living in that same place 5 or 10 years down the road? I only offer up these few words so that you do not wind up in my same position. In this economy you sound to have a good job and are extremely fortunate to own a home! Really reach down to the bottom of your being and ask yourself if you are moving only because of the prodding of a few friends.

  2. You forgot to mention . . . meeting up for 2 very special holidays in september . . . 1 in ‘BAMA and the other at ACL! With Love . . . your little friend, Antonio.

    • Heck yes! I’m really looking forward to the Austinites coming to Alabama…and super freakin’ excited about ACL!

Leave a Reply

